A sex and violent offenders duty to register expires ten years after the date that the offender:
- Becomes 21 years of age, if the sex and violent offender was required to register under Indiana law for a delinquent act;
- Is released from a secure juvenile detention facility;
- Is released from a penal facility of a State or another jurisdiction;
- Is placed in a community transition program;
- Is placed in a community corrections program;
- Is placed on parole; or
- Is placed on probation; whichever occurs last.
A sex and violent offender’s duty to register for life if that the offender:
- If the offense was committed when the offender was 18 years of age or older and it was against a victim who was less than 12 years of age at the time of the crime.
- If the offender caused serious boldly injury or death to the victim; used force or the threat of force against the victim or a member of the victim’s family; or rendered the victim unconscious or otherwise incapable of giving voluntary consent.
- If the offender committed two or more unrelated sex and violent offenses.
A sex and violent offenders duty to register every 90 days for a period of life if the offender:
- Is determined by a court to be considered a sexually violent predator.
*Note the above is a brief summation of Indiana law concerning the length of time that a sex and violent offender is required to register for more detailed information refer to Indiana Sex and Violent Offender Registry.